blackberry-apple cobbler | aka farewell tasty Tuesday

It’s been a while since I posted a tasty Tuesday treat, my lovelies. And yet, this will likely be the last one. Fear not, I’m still cooking and baking. I’ve finally realized, however, that while I can bake I am far, far better at cooking. What’s more, my weekly baking schedule was definitely taking it’s toll. On my schedule, on my kitchen, and, well, on my rear end. Oops.

So I returned to my normal cooking regimen. Less starchy, more healthy. Lots of protein and vegetables. But I had to lead off with a special treat; I had to indulge my sweet tooth one last time.

Of course, this also means going back to my first baking success, which just happened to be my best baking failure: blackberry cobbler. When I originally told friends that I couldn’t bake, many said: but you’ve got that great cobbler! Yes, folks, apparently my cobbler is legendary. This is somewhat hilarious because I happened upon the recipe while trying to make this cobbler:

Image

It was sooooo good. But, I didn’t realize that the first time I made it was a big ol’ “fail”. I didn’t have any brandy so I substituted apple juice. I’d read online that you could do that. I think I added too much butter. And so much more. Epic fail, but it was yummy. So tasty that my sister-in-law forbade my brother from eating any. She was heading out of town and made him put it in the freezer until her return. The crust, you see, was more like a cookie than a biscuit. And the fruit was caramelized but still whole. Plate-licking good. No really, my friend actually licks the plate!

So of course I made it again! But I followed the recipe this time, and it tasted like any other cobbler recipe out there. That’s when the mission began: recreate the original cobbler mistake. Get back the cookie-like crust and the caramel-like fruit. After a few tries, bingo! I got it. The best part (apart from the taste): it’s easy. And you can mix and match, use different fruit in season, use different liqueurs, spices, etc.

I shouldn’t share this recipe. It’s pretty much my signature dish. But it’s too good to keep to myself. So, here it is. I hope you’ll try it, maybe make a mistake, and maybe happen upon your own version. Enjoy!

what’s needed:

  • 2-3 cups of fruit: 4-6 oz of blackberries and 1-1/2 or 2 apples depending on size
  • 1 cup of sugar, divided. I use demerara (pure cane) sugar or half granulated and half raw (mixed together).
  • 1/2 cup of liqueur, divided. For this cobbler, I use 1/4 cup Kahlua on the fruit and Frangelico in the dough. Or apple juice if you don’t want the booze.
  • 3 tbs melted butter, plus 1 tbs.
  • 1 cup flour
  • 2 tbs brown sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon or nutmeg
  • 1/4 cup milk

what to do:

  1. Preheat oven to 400F
  2. Rinse blackberries and set aside to drain/dry. Peel and chop the apples into mid sized chunks, about 1/2″.
  3. In a 9″ baking dish, combine the fruit, half the sugar, and 1 tbs of butter. Pour in half the liqueur and combine to coat the fruit in the mixture.
  4. Place in the oven while you’re pulling the dough together, about 7-10 mins. If you choose to leave out the liqueur this is less important, but it helps to cook off some of the alcohol and also gets a start on the carmelization.
  5. While the fruit is baking, in a mixing bowl, combine flour, the other half of the sugar, brown sugar, baking powder, and salt. Add spices too, if you choose.
  6. Add the melted butter, milk, and the other half of the liqueur. Mix until combined. When ready, it will look and feel like a loose or very soft cookie dough.
  7. Remove the fruit mixture from the oven and place on stovetop or trivet.
  8. Spoon the dough mixture over the fruit in 6 – 8 medium-sized clumps, leaving smallish gaps where the fruit peeks through.
  9. Return to the oven and bake until fruit is bubbling and crust is a toasty brown, about 30 minutes.
  10. Let cool and serve with whipped cream or ice cream. I’ve also eaten it with greek yogurt. Vanilla or honey works well, and suddenly it’s (almost) breakfast food. Yumm!

Cobbler - Miss Bent

Related articles

Say something:

