pork knuckle chili

It’s time for another tasty Tuesday treat. Unfortunately the baking bug did not bite me this week (again! I’ve been busy getting creative) but it looks like strawberries are still in season. I’ll probably post my final attempt for the season next week.

In the interim, I’m still a hungry lady! And I have a great local farmers market. Most Saturdays I wander a few short blocks and grab some veggies, fruit and, if I’m lucky, a pork knuckle. Yep, you read me right. Pork knuckle. It’s dark meat is flavorful without being salty like bacon. And it’s completely underrated.Pork Knuckle Chili - Little Miss Bent

The local rotisserie truck offers a few pork knuckles for the adventurous customer. Get there before noon-ish and you’re in for a treat. Make nice with the chef and he might even put it aside for you or give you a few tips on recipes. And for $7 you can get a delectable treat that’s good for about 3 dishes. I’ll make a chili and a veggie dish with the meat and a soup with the bone. Yumm.

Here’s the chili I made. It’s just one of the many dishes that play to my love of the most heavenly smell in the world: onions is a saute pan. This chili is also tasty and cooks up fairly quickly since the meat is already cooked. My secret ingredient? Freshly ground nutmeg. Warning: like my mum I cook by taste and feel. Feel free to adjust to your own tastes.Lake Merritt Market Day - Little Miss Bent

Pork Knuckle Diced - Little Miss Bent

  • 1 large pork knuckle!
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 large onion, coarsely diced
  • 4 cloves of garlic, chopped
  • 6 medium/large tomatoes, diced or 1 can of whole tomatoes, crushed by hand
  • 1 medium bell pepper, diced
  • 4 tbs chili powder
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 large bay leaf
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 15oz can each of red kidney beans and cannellini (or 2 of either)
  • 1 15oz can of corn
  • salt to taste

Here’s what I did:

  1. Saute the onion, garlic and tomatoes on low in a medium saucepan with the olive oil.
  2. While the onions are sweating, start carving the pork knuckle. Remove the skin and throw it in the pot with the onions. Then carve the meat from the bone (& put the bone in the freezer or set up a pot of soup!). 
  3. Add the bell peppers, then finish dicing the meat.
  4. Add the tomatoes to the pan and increase the heat to medium-high.
  5. Add the bay leaf and other dry ingredients. Stir well and simmer to until the mixture thickens, just enough time to open and drain the cans of beans and corn.
  6. Add the beans, stir and simmer about 15 minutes more.
  7. Add the pork and simmer another 20-30 minutes. Typically I remove the chili from heat and stir in the corn at the end (I like the crunch and freshness), but it can be added with the pork.
  8. Remove the pork skins and bay leaf and discard. Salt to taste.
  9. Now you’re ready to serve! Add any fixings you like, such as sour cream, grated cheese, scallions, etc. or just dig in. Enjoy!
Say something:

