my baking journey: Jamaican-inspired rock buns

So I’ve been a bit crazed, but I’m determined not to neglect my baking. I’ve been feeling a bit nostalgic lately, and since I did pretty well with my second attempt at strawberry cake, I decided to go back to my roots. So I made rock buns for a tasty Tuesday treat and shared it with the folks at my jewelry studio.

Rock Buns - Little Miss Bent

yummy, Jamaican-inspired rock buns

What, you may ask, are rock buns? These are, in my humble opinion, the best form of Jamaican comfort food. Think scone meets cookie meets muffin. That’s the best description I can give. My mum, now a bit of a baking fiend, didn’t do too much baking as a child. Too busy working and raising you kids, she would say. Rock buns, though, were her go-to treat.

This is not quite mum’s recipe; she kept it simple with a dab of jelly or sometimes raisins. But I found this recipe for coconut rock buns at TriniGourmet.com and wanted to give it a try. Of course, I just couldn’t stick to the recipe so rather than coconut I used candied ginger and dried peaches (both finely diced). Not quite Jamaican fare. As yummy as these are this is fair warning to you, Mum, that I’ll be ringing up this evening for your recipe and tips again!

These succulent, not quite sweet goodies can be whipped up in about 15-20 minutes then baked for just about 15 minutes. A taste of home in just 30 minutes? No stand or even hand mixer required? Sold! Here’s the recipe, once again with asterisks by my notes:

  • 2 cups all purpose flour, sifted
  • ½ cup soft margarine
  • ½ cup brown sugar
  • 4 tbs raisins *(or, in my case 1/2 cup dried peaches, diced)
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 medium eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 4 teaspoons milk
  • ½ cup shredded coconut *(or, in my case candied ginger, diced)
Rock Buns Ingredients - Little Miss Bent

the breadcrumb texture of the butter/flour mixture

Here’s what you do. So simple.

  1. Preheat oven at 360°F / 190°C. Grease baking sheet.
  2. Using your finger tips, rub butter into sifted flour until mixture resembles fine breadcrumbs.
  3. Add sugar, raisins*, baking powder and coconut*, mix in evenly.
  4. Beat eggs and vanilla. Pour into flour mixture and combine then add milk slowly.
  5. Combine mixture with the hands until a moist dough is formed.
  6. With a spoon and a fork, divide dough into equal pieces and shape each piece into a “rocky cone” on the greased baking tray. *The recipe states that the mixture will make 6 buns, but I prefer them smaller, and make 10-12.
  7. Bake for 15 minutes or until done. *They should be light brown to golden brown.

*According to her post, before baking Sarina of TriniGourmet fame sprinkles the buns generously with brown sugar, though the original recipe doesn’t call for it. I declined this time around, but have done in the past.

Let them cool for a bit, then dig on in!

4 comments

  1. Margaret · · Reply

    Gluten Free recipe please:-D

    1. Do you have one that works? I’m only now beginning to have success with baking, much less gluten free. But I’ll try it if I come across one…

  2. I forgot about those – will try your “twist”

    1. you try mine, I’ll try yours 🙂

Say something:

