learning to bake: simple blueberry tart

So I started a life list with GoMighty, because starting my own business was only the tip of the iceberg. I learned about GoMighty through SkillShare and I highly recommend both of these networks. I’ll even give you a referral if you’d like (we both get $10). Just pass along your details. It’s fun and enlightening to create a sort of bucket list and then set about doing those items. Why wait until you have a reason to create a bucket list? Do these things now, when you can! Live life!

If you happen to peruse my life list, you’ll notice that I’m trying to learn to bake. Because I can’t. And I refuse to let something like this conquer me. I mean, I can cook. I can make a cobbler. People even like my cobbler, though I happened upon it by making a baking mistake. Because, well, baking is artful chemistry. I’m an engineer-type; I did way better in physics than chemistry.  Mostly, I’ve noticed that when I cook I feel around. I start with something I know then I add a bit of this and a bit of that until it tastes right. I can follow a recipe but I inevitably alter it while cooking. One cannot do that with baking unless without knowing what to do and how to do so, and obviously I don’t.

So after completely botching a cake I once tried to make (the second time I have done this), I decided to learn how to bake. I’ve made a couple of attempts since the great cake debacle. They are far easier than a cake, though turning out fairly well thus far.  My goal is to make a fancy, fruity, decorative cake entirely from scratch. I’ll post my progress here and on my GoMighty page. If you’re a baker, let me know because I need help! I’ve already reached out to some friends who know what they’re doing, and I wouldn’t mind adding another to my list.

Each week, I’ll bake something. Here’s my try for this week, a simple blueberry tart. In truth, I’ve made this tart once below, but with a bit of supervision and from a friend’s modified recipe. I needed to put my own spin on it, and make sure I could make it without a crowd. Success! Recipe below.

Tart Crust, Little Miss Bent

getting the tart crust ready

Tart Crust:
Preheat oven at 350F. Then get started. First combine the following:

  • 10 tbs unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Then add the following:

  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder

(Mix these together first! You need to integrate the baking powder properly!)

Press the dough into a 9-10″ tart pan (removable bottom/sides), taking care to spread evenly across the bottom and around the sides. Bake at 350F for about 15-20 mins, or until it looks golden brown.

Filling:

Blueberry Tart, Little Miss Bent

look at that crust!

You’ll need 4 cups of blueberries, divided. The original recipe calls for 2 cups simmering and 2 cups set aside for combining later. I prefer the taste of fresh berries, so I only simmer 1-1/2 cups.While the crust is baking, combine the following in over medium heat in a mid-sized pot/saucepan:

  • 1-1/2 cups blueberries
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 tbs all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • zest of small lemon
  • juice from half a lemon (not in the original recipe either!)
Simmer the mixture over medium heat until combined. Make sure to stir the mixture constantly, as the flour will thicken in clumps if you don’t.  Continue to simmer until the mixture becomes thickened and translucent. Remove from heat.

Spread the reserved berries in the tart crust. Pour the warm berry mixture over the fresh berries. Use a fork to gently distribute the  mixture evenly (do not press or push!). Let cool, then refrigerate for about an hour. The filling should set up by then. It’s now ready to serve, with homemade whipped cream or alone. Enjoy!

–zb

5 comments

  1. hmmmmmm… I love blueberry tart!

    1. I didn’t think I would, but this recipe is delicious. now I love it!

  2. Elizabeth · · Reply

    I’d love to taste it.

    1. let’s plan on that during my next visit! or yours!

  3. […] decorated cake, I figured I should try to bake an actual cake with some fruitiness this week. Blueberry tart is fine, but it’s not a cake. Enter this lemon tea cake recipe, […]

Say something:

